PCPI posts measure sets and guidance documents for review and comment during the 30-day public comment period.

PCPI solicits feedback from PCPI members, quality improvement collaboratives, providers, consumers, public/private purchasers and others with an interest in the particular measure set.

Opportunity for public comment: American Heart Association Statin Therapy quality measure

The American Heart Association (AHA) and the PCPI are soliciting public comments on a quality measure to assess the use of statin therapy in four distinct statin benefit groups, including:

  1. Adults aged ≥ 21 years who have clinical atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD);
  2. Adults aged ≥21 years with primary low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C) level ≥ 190mg/dL;
  3. Adults aged 40-75 years with diabetes mellitus and LDL-C level of 70-189mg/dL;
  4. Adults aged 40-75 years of age with LDL–C 70 to 189 mg/dL, without clinical ASCVD or diabetes and an estimated ASCVD risk ≥7.5%
The AHA’s Statin Therapy measure integrates the ACC/AHA ASCVD Risk Calculator and is intended for use within AHA quality programs. The measure will be piloted to test the feasibility of using the ASCVD risk calculator and whether it drives quality improvement. To finalize the measure, we invite your comments on specific measure components. Namely, we are seeking comments on the accuracy and clinical relevance of the measure exclusions and exceptions and on the clarity of the measure definitions.  

The Statin Therapy measure public comment period begins on Tuesday, September 5, 2017 and will close at 5:00 p.m. Central on Friday, September 29, 2017. All comments are welcome and will be considered.

The following materials are available to download for your review and comment:
Please submit your comments online by September 29, 2017.